If You Like This, Then Read These: Smut Book Club Series Recommendation Guide

by Angie [A Whole Lot of Nothing] on October 10, 2012

in And Then Some,Book Recommendations,Smut Book Club Book Recommendations

In my quest to spread smut appreciation, I have become a source for you horny smut readers to consult when looking for the next book to read.

The simple, “What should I read now?” question is one I always follow up with something like, “How dirty do you like your smut?” or “What smut have you already read that you like?” or “Does reading about The Gays having sex turn you on?”

Not all smut is for everyone. There are some books that go too far, there are book that don’t go far enough, and there are books that are downright nasty. The most-often used search terms leading to this blog is “books similar to 50 Shades of Grey” and “books like Bared To You” and for good reason. Those two books are gateway drugs into the smut world. And I admit, it’s how I got hooked. But these two books may not be everyone’s favorite.

Taking the recommendations for romance and smut books similar to the ones you’ve already read is like dating. You have to feel out the person, see what they like, figure out their level of smut comfortability. You’re spending money on this date; you don’t want to waste it on a crappy book and not get laid.

After you’ve read Fifty Shades of Grey and you’re horned up and ready for more salacious smut, dive headfirst into these delicious recommended books. Each one of the books below that I’m recommending I’ve read and rated 4/5 stars or 5/5. Aside from the Slammed series and Gone Girl, each of these books is titillating and heavy on the sex that I rate between an X (Gabriel’s Inferno/Gabriel’s Rapture) to XXX (The Siren/The Angel).

•  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •

If you like contemporary love stories with steamy sex scenes, then read The Sullivans series by Bella Andre and The Marriage Bargain & The Mariage Trap by Jennifer Probst.

The Look of Love: The Sullivans, Book 1 (Contemporary Romance)
The Sullivans series for Kindle
The Sullivans series for nook
iTunes, App Store and Mac App Store
Buy an eBook From Kobo Today
icon

The Marriage Bargain
The Marriage Bargain for Kindle
The Marriage Bargain for nook
The Marriage Trap
The Marriage Trap for Kindle
The Marriage Trap for nook
iTunes, App Store and Mac App Store
Buy an eBook From Kobo Today

•  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •

If you like laugh-out-loud funny smut like Alice Clayton’s The Redhead series, then read Tara Sivec’s Chocolate Lover’s series.
The Unidentified Redhead (The Redhead Series)
The Unidentified Redhead for Kindle
The Unidentified Redhead for nook

The Redhead Revealed (The Redhead Series)
The Redhead Revealed for Kindle
The Redhead Revealed for nook

Seduction and Snacks (Chocolate Lovers #1)
Seduction & Snacks for Kindle
Seduction and Snacks for nook

Futures and Frosting (Chocolate Lovers #2)
Futures and Frosting for Kindle
Futures and Frosting for nookicon

•  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •

If you like controlling male characters like Gideon in Sylvia Day’s Crossfire series, then read Sylvain Reynard’s series about Gabriel.

Bared to You: A Crossfire Novel
Bared To You for Kindle
Bared To You for nook

Reflected in You: A Crossfire Novel
Reflected In You for Kindle
Reflected in You for nook
iTunes, App Store and Mac App Store
Buy an eBook From Kobo Today

Gabriel's Inferno
Gabriel’s Inferno for Kindle
Gabriel’s Inferno for nook

Gabriel's Rapture
Gabriel’s Rapture for Kindle
Gabriel’s Rapture for nook
iTunes, App Store and Mac App Store
Buy an eBook From Kobo Today

•  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •

If you like the no-holds-barred sexy cowboys in Lorelei James’s Rough Riders series, then read about Olivia Cunning’s steamy rockers in the Sinners on Tour series.

Long Hard Ride (Rough Riders)
Long Hard Ride (Rough Riders #1) for Kindle
Long Hard Ride (Rough Riders #1) for nook

Rough, Raw and Ready (Rough Riders)
Rough, Raw, & Ready (Rough Riders #5) for Kindle
Rough, Raw, & Ready (Rough Riders #5) for nook
iTunes, App Store and Mac App Store
Buy an eBook From Kobo Today

Backstage Pass (The Sinners on Tour)
Backstage Pass for Kindle
Backstage Pass for nook

Rock Hard (The Sinners on Tour)
Rock Hard for Kindle
Rock Hard for nook
iTunes, App Store and Mac App Store
Buy an eBook From Kobo Today

•  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •

If you like mind-blowingly good story-telling with heavy BDSM scenes and multi-layered characters, then read The Original Sinners series by Tiffany Reisz.

The Siren (The Original Sinners)
The Siren for Kindle
The Siren for nook
The Angel (The Original Sinners)
The Angel for Kindle
The Angel for nook
iTunes, App Store and Mac App Store
Buy an eBook From Kobo Today

•  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •

If you like 2 men, 1 woman menage, then read Sophie Oak’s Texas Siren Series.
Small Town Siren (Siren Publishing Menage Amour)
Texas Siren Series for Kindle
Texas Siren for nook
icon
Buy an eBook From Kobo Today

•  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •

If you like a sweet love story, then read the Slammed series by Colleen Hoover.

Slammed
Slammed for Kindle
Slammed for nook
Point of Retreat
Point of Retreat for Kindle
Point of Retreat for nook
icon
iTunes, App Store and Mac App Store
Buy an eBook From Kobo Today

•  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •

If you like vampires not overly weird or confusingly paranormal, then read J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series and The Dominion Series by S.E. Lund.

Lover Mine: A Novel of the Black Dagger Brotherhood
Black Dagger Brotherhood series for Kindle

Black Dagger Brotherhood series for nook
icon
iTunes, App Store and Mac App Store
Buy an eBook From Kobo Today

Dominion (Book 1 of The Dominion Series)
The Dominion Series for Kindle

•  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •

These aren’t a part of a series, but if you like mind-fuckery storytelling like Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, then read The Opportunist by Tarryn Fisher.

Gone Girl: A Novel
Gone Girl for Kindle
Gone Girl for nook
icon
iTunes, App Store and Mac App Store
Buy an eBook From Kobo Today

The Opportunist (Love Me With Lies)
The Opportunist for Kindle
The Opportunist for nook
icon
•  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •
Alright horny smut readers, now tell me and the other horny smut readers what we should read and why.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Get my brilliance emailed to you every time I publish. You definitely want this.

Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz

{ 18 comments… read them below or add one }

1 Michelle T-W October 10, 2012 at 12:50 pm

Love these recs (quelle surprise!)

A new to me series is The Dream Man series by Kristen Ashley. The sexy times are a little glossed over until the last one, but good. It’s all about Badassedness, commandos, cops, and bikers. Frickin yummy I tell ya!!

Reply

2 Angie [A Whole Lot of Nothing] October 10, 2012 at 10:14 pm

Let me know how it turns out!
An Awesome post on Angie [A Whole Lot of Nothing]´s blog … Kindle Of Ill Repute: Reflected In You Review

Reply

3 Michelle T-W October 11, 2012 at 8:34 am

Finished the series just yesterday. They are FANTASTIC!!! As mentioned, there’s not a lot of the *actual* sexy time, but lots of innuendo, and well frick I’m still dreaming about the Baddassedness of all four of these men! *swoon*

They do tend to be a little bit predictable after the first one (plot lines) but still different enough that you aren’t disappointed. They have a very thrilling vibe to them. The lust/love and comedic factors are all there as well. Well thought out. My only beef is the grammar/lack of editing, but, I have that issue most of the time lol.

I think you’ll love them! They are priced really well, and actually really long books. I wholeheartedly recommend reading them in order though, otherwise some parts may be confusing.
The Dream Man Series by Kristen Ashley
Mystery Man
Wild Man
Law Man
Motorcycle Man

Reply

4 Angie [A Whole Lot of Nothing] October 11, 2012 at 9:02 am

Alrighty – I just bought the first one!
An Awesome post on Angie [A Whole Lot of Nothing]´s blog … Kindle Of Ill Repute: Reflected In You Review

Reply

5 Jenn October 10, 2012 at 1:14 pm

The Loving On The Edge series by Roni Loren! Amazing! Love story, ménage, BDSM, it’s all the above and more!

Reply

6 Angie [A Whole Lot of Nothing] October 10, 2012 at 10:11 pm

Holy moly, those are expensive. I’d have to sell a kid to afford all of them! Or, peddle more smut…
An Awesome post on Angie [A Whole Lot of Nothing]´s blog … I Think It’s Pet Peeve Week: Spoilers

Reply

7 Sarah @ TM2TS October 10, 2012 at 8:48 pm

Another if you like the menage of more males and one female: The Colter’s series by Maya Banks. *drools* REALLY well written.

I’ve started the Rough Riders series. *cough* Oh. Em. Gee. Wow. LOVE IT!
An Awesome post on Sarah @ TM2TS´s blog … I WENT SHORT!!

Reply

8 Angie [A Whole Lot of Nothing] October 10, 2012 at 10:03 pm

Good golly, I love the Rough Riders. #5 is my favorite. *swoon*
An Awesome post on Angie [A Whole Lot of Nothing]´s blog … I Think It’s Pet Peeve Week: Spoilers

Reply

9 Tina October 15, 2012 at 10:00 pm

The “Sweet” series by Maya Banks is a new favorite…but have you heard of the “Wicked Lovers” series by Shayla Black? Holy smokes. It’s cuuhrayzay. I loved them all!
Best,
Tina

Reply

10 E October 11, 2012 at 8:57 pm

As an avid reader I have read many of the books you have recommended here. I intend to try the ones I have missed! Thanks for the recommendations!
E
An Awesome post on E´s blog … Chaos Theory

Reply

11 Alicia October 11, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Have to say that I love The Sullivan series by Bella Andre; liked The Marriage Bargain. Slammed series was a good read. I remember it more for the romance than the smut. I have four recommendations. I’m a big Pride and Predjuice variation fan. Trials of the Honorable F. Darcy by Sara Angelini is a story where Darcy is a judge and Elizabeth is a lawyer. They have an erotic, unethical affair; has a strip tease. Next is My BFF by Ruth Phillips Oakland. Darcy is a billionaire attracted to Elizabeth the professor. They are friends who become lovers. There is a very erotic oral sex scene that I highly recommend. Then there is Fitzwilliam Darcy Rock Star by Heather Lynn Rigaud. Both Darcy and Elizabeth are rock stars. Sex and rock and roll, its my favorite variation. There are lots of graphic scenes. Last is One Good Man or Two by Winter K. Anderson. Theis is a two guys one girl story. Erotic scenes involving all three. Hope you try them.

Reply

12 Lori October 11, 2012 at 10:42 pm

Thanks a ton for your list! I’ve read some of these, and added the rest to my shopping list!

Reply

13 Sarah @ TM2TS October 20, 2012 at 7:45 pm

Okay, I’m on Tell’s {Rough Riders} and I’m SO pissed that there aren’t more.
I had to get the West cousins’ books, but there’re only TWO. TWO. *grr*
An Awesome post on Sarah @ TM2TS´s blog … When Beauty Tamed The Beast

Reply

14 Angie [A Whole Lot of Nothing] October 22, 2012 at 9:09 am

Lorelei says there are 2 (maybe 3?) more Rough Riders coming out. :):):)
An Awesome post on Angie [A Whole Lot of Nothing]´s blog … Claire Wrote A Love Story Of Disfigurement

Reply

15 Sarah @ TM2TS October 22, 2012 at 9:12 am

I needs them! I need them now!
An Awesome post on Sarah @ TM2TS´s blog … Review: Colters’ Promise (Colters’ Legacy, #4)

Reply

16 Kat December 4, 2012 at 9:45 pm

The 50 Shades trilogy and the Crossfire Novels were definitely my gateway drugs to good smutty reading. Since then, I’ve read R.L. Mathewson’s “Neighbor from Hell” series. The stories are great (and really funny at parts), they’re easy to get into, and the sex is hot. The books are self-published so they’re cheap (the most I paid for a digital copy of a newly released book was $3.00) but they’re also full of grammatical errors. However, the guys in the books are worth the bad spelling/grammar/punctuation. Also her EMS novel, called “Sudden Response” is pretty good too. Give them a shot! :)

Reply

17 heather August 10, 2013 at 9:13 pm

I’m surprised that Tara Sue Me’s “The Submissive” hasn’t been mentioned. Storyline is identical to 50 Shades but it’s written well. I believe the second book “The Dominant” is coming out this month, and it’s supposed to be the same story except told from the man’s pov. Third book will be titled “The Training” and I can imagine it will be quite a good read. I encourage reading these books (when they’re all out of course!). On another note, I can’t wait for the Crossfire series to continue, I’m soooo in love with Gideon *drool*

Reply

18 Vanessa August 31, 2013 at 4:12 pm

The Up In The Air series by R.K. Lilley , starting with In Flight. It’s very fifty shades-ish but waaayyyy better. He is a Dom, and has issues but the characters are better developed and the sex scenes are more realistic , at least to me. The writing is exceptional and the story line is just… Well, steamy, smutty goodness in a 3 part series.

Reply

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

Previous post:

Next post: